Contact: Tiffany Stronghart
American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry
AACD Membership Elects New Leaders in Orlando
ORLANDO (5/2/14)—The membership of the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry (AACD) elected several new leaders to its boards during the Annual Membership Meeting at AACD 2014 in Orlando May 2 during the Academy’s 30th Anniversary Scientific Session.
James Hastings, DDS, officially accepted his role as president of AACD. Dr. Hastings practices in Placerville, Calif. Dr. Hastings has been a member of AACD since 1994, earning Accreditation in 1998. He has served on the AACD’s Board of Governors, which has since been renamed the American Board of Cosmetic Dentistry.
Joyce Bassett, DDS, will serve as president-elect. Dr. Bassett practices cosmetic and restorative dentistry in Scottsdale, Ariz. Dr. Bassett is an AACD Accredited Fellow Member, an associate member of the American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry, an active member in the Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics, and a KOIS mentor.
Chiann Fan Gibson, DMD, was elected vice-president of AACD. Dr. Gibson has served on the AACD Board of Directors from 2009-2011 and again in 2013-2014. She practices general and cosmetic dentistry in Naperville, Ill., and is the founding member and president of the Midwest Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry, which is based in Chicago.
Jack Ringer, DDS, will serve as immediate past president.
Other newly elected board members include:
* Dr. Steven Andreaus, Board of Directors
* Dr. Peter Auster, Board of Directors;
* Dr. Randall Burba, Board of Directors;
* Dr. John Calamia, Board of Directors;
* Dr. Susan Hollar, Board of Directors;
* Dr. Nicholas Marongiu, Board of Directors;
* Mr. Michael O’Malley, Board of Directors;
* Dr. Michael Bannan, American Board of Cosmetic Dentistry;
* Dr. Adamo Notarantonio, American Board of Cosmetic Dentistry;
* Dr. John Rowe, American Board of Cosmetic Dentistry;

* Dr. John Calamia, Nominating and Leadership Development Committee
* Dr. Marshall Hanson, Nominating and Leadership Development Committee;
* Ms. Laura Kelly, AACD Past President, Nominating and Leadership Development Committee.

The AACD Board of Directors’ responsibilities include:  Determining the direction of the AACD, creating board policy and actively linking with membership to maintain exceptional member value.
The mission of the American Board of Cosmetic Dentistry is to protect and preserve the validity of the Accreditation examination while maintaining the standard of excellence the credential has come to represent. The ABCD assures the rights and privileges of the Accredited Members are honored while allowing the opportunity for dentists and laboratory technicians to achieve their full potential in cosmetic dentistry.
The Nominating and Leadership Development Committee is charged with seeking out and encouraging future leaders for the Academy.
For more information about the AACD, visit
About the AACD

The AACD is the world’s largest non-profit membership organization dedicated to advancing excellence in comprehensive oral care combining art and science to optimally improve dental health, function, and esthetics. Comprised of more than 6,400 cosmetic dental professionals in more than 80 countries around the globe, the AACD fulfills its mission by offering superior educational opportunities, promoting and supporting a respected credential, serving as a user-friendly and inviting forum for the creative exchange of knowledge and ideas, and providing accurate and useful information to the public and the profession.
For more information regarding the AACD, please visit, send an e-mail to, or call 800.543.9220.