Media RoomDental MediaAACD Scientific Session Provides Collaboration, Continuing Education
Contact: Tiffany Stronghart
American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry®
PH: 608.237.8819
Web site:
AACD Scientific Session Provides Collaboration, Continuing Education

MADISON, Wis. (5/25/11)—More than 2,000 dental professionals worldwide gathered in Boston last week for the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry’s (AACD) 27th Annual Scientific Session, making the event one of the Academy’s most successful.

The conference, held May 18-21, offered attendees more than 144 continuing education classes to choose from. The event, themed, “The Rise of Collaboration,” also featured many new dental products in this year’s exhibit hall, with more than 167 exhibiting companies and 660 representatives.

The AACD celebrated the achievements of its 28 newly Accredited members and newly Accredited Fellow at the Celebration of Excellence Gala Saturday night, and honored a number of individuals for their dedication and excellence in the field of cosmetic dentistry.

The AACD also elected new officers:

John K. Sullivan, DDS
Ron Goodlin, DDS

Vice President
Jerry Woolf, DDS

The AACD also presented several awards:

AACD Humanitarian Award
Dr. Charles Vittitow

Outstanding Service Award
Dr. Susan Hollar

Excellence in Cosmetic Dental Education Award
Dr. Newton Fahl

President’s Award
Dr. Gary Radz
Dr. Randy Mitchmore

AACD Rising Star Award
Dr. Tesa Reeves

Give Back a Smile Volunteer Award
Dr. Joyce Bassett
Dr. Randy Mitchmore
Dr. John Sullivan
AACD New Accredited Fellow:
Nancy Norling, DDS

AACD New Accredited Members:
R. Steven Ballback, DDS
Angela Britt, DMD
Randall S. Burba, DMD
Stephen D. Doan, DMD
Juan M. Escobar, CDT
Henry F. Evans, DMD
Craig P. Goldin, DDS
Prashant A. Hatkar, BDS, MDS
Ross S. Headley, DDS
James C. Hodge, Jr., DDS
Gary R. Hubbard, DDS
Donald M. Jayne, DDS
Michael J. Koczarski, DDS
Ryan Langer
Gerard J. Lemongello, Jr., DMD
Dianna Lenick, DDS
Elizabeth L. Lowery, DDS
Adamo E. Notarantonio, DDS
Jason S. Olitsky, DMD
Nicholas J. Pournaras, DMD
Denise L. Quitter
James D. Salazar, DDS
Naoki Ned Shimizu, DDS
Robert E. Stafford, DDS
Shoji Suruga, CDT
Nathalie Vachon, DMD
Mark B. Whaley, DDS
Barbara Warner Wojdan, CDT

During the session, several fundraisers for the AACD Charitable Foundation’s premier program, Give Back a Smile, generated about $30,000 to help restore the smiles of domestic violence survivors.

Next year’s event, the 28th Annual Scientific Session, is slated for May 2-5, 2012, in National Harbor, Md., just minutes from Washington, D.C.
About the AACD
The AACD is the world’s largest non-profit membership organization dedicated to advancing excellence in comprehensive oral care combining art and science to optimally improve dental health, function, and esthetics. Comprised of more than 6,000 cosmetic dental professionals in more than 70 countries around the globe, the AACD fulfills its mission by offering superior educational opportunities, promoting and supporting a respected credential, serving as a user-friendly and inviting forum for the creative exchange of knowledge and ideas, and providing accurate and useful information to the public and the profession.

For more information regarding the AACD, please visit, send an e-mail, or call 800.543.9220. To obtain photos of the 27th Annual AACD Scientific Session for your publication, e-mail Public Relations.